Turning Vegetarian

Hi everyone, so I guilty admit it’s been ages since I last updated my blog. Lots of good and bad reasons…the main being I suppose I just lost heart over the long dreary wet winter but its officially summer now and I find my spirits lifted by the sunshine. I am still recycling and compositing but sadly due to ill health since December, haven’t been able to do much if any planting in my garden this year which is a cause of great sadness and disappointment for me. However, there’s not much I can do about that so I want to make the most of this season, my favourite season of the year.

I did move my greenhouse up the back to my fruit&veg garden and dug in several rows of rooster potatoes so that’s something but sadly no beans, peas, mangetout or other veg planted so far this year. Have crazy amounts of weeding to do up there!

The big news is that for some strange reason, I’m turning vegetarian. I literally can’t eat meat anymore and feel physically ill when I do. There are lots and lots of incredibly good reasons to be vegetarian and I was never much of a meat eater anyways but all the same it’s rather startling. I guess my body knows what’s good for it and is making its opinions heard! 🙂

The result is that I’m now trying to completely re – plan my diet and figure out how to make easy, quick and tasty meals that will be good for me but that won’t break the bank. I have been buying lots of readymade vegetarian meals like the Linda McCarty range, Quorn products…I have also been purchasing heavily of the frozen section in the health food stores and trying out all the different types of meat substitutes from rashers to burgers to sausages to Sunday roast dinner style food, all of which are quite expensive if easy. I will start reviewing those products over the next few weeks and let you know what I think.

I have however begun to start finding out recipes for making my own meat substitute food which would work out much cheaper and could be quite fun to make and if they are nice, I will post photos and the recipes here.

Its sort of exciting starting a new diet, a new way at looking at food and how it affects so many other areas of your life including the environment, economy and of course your health.

Oh and one last thing, if turning vegetarian makes you look as great as Natalie Portman and Pamela Anderson, both of whom are vegetarians, I’d be mad not to give it a go! 🙂  Bon Appétit!

2 thoughts on “Turning Vegetarian

  1. Well our garden is hanging off a 4th floor balcony in East London. South facing and loads of sun, but the wind can be a pain, and space is a premium.

    Our courgettes are not doing so good, but our tomatoes look like real keepers.

    A few years ago, restricted income and a better attitude to food, let me to explore a lot of vegetarian meals and cooking processes in general. I still make a really delicious salad, but good vegetarian food often needs a bit more time in the kitchen, so it is important to develop good cooking processes.

    For me, chickpeas were the saviour. Great in curries and salads, they give a robust texture to your meals that helps as a meat replacement (if not a substitute). I have often done chickpea 3 ways in the same meal – hummus, falafel, and unmodified. Other pulses are great in the same vein (lentils, beans and such), and I have some good recipes based on them.

    Another key thing, is how vegan your vegetarian diet will be. It helps a lot with finding a meat replacement. If eggs, dairy or even fish are allowed, that opens up a lot of options and keeps a lot of effort out of your meals (butter, cheese really help out with a lot of vegetarian dishes, and eggs are fast food with a lot of options and variations).

    The 2 best investments to make as a vegetarian, are a slow cooker and a food processor. They help enormously around the kitchen, especially with slow cooked pulses that need to be watched, and all the chopping that your new diet requires.

    Anyway, good luck with all that.

    Like

  2. Great article!! Looking forward to reading your next blog entry! I have been mainly vegetarian since I was 16, so we can exchange some recipes – over some nice lunch, of course. it’s high time to catch up 🙂 hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

