Wild, Wet and Windy Days

It seems Autumn is on its way although the Indian Summer might still return for a little while hopefully. I managed to cut the front lawn before the rain came and spread bags of fresh seaweed around my fruit bushes, broad beans [as they are being attacked by greenfly and most insects dont like seaweed] and around my broccoli and celery. I turned the contents of the compost bin with a pitchfork after adding a large bag of seaweed [great for speeding up the composting process and adding nutrients to the mix] and added the grass cuttings from the lawn.

I managed to take the dog for a short twenty minute walk but it was rather miserable between the rain and the damp and cars rushing by. Dont forget for you and your dog to wear safety vests so that drivers can see you and your dog clearly in bad weather conditions or at dusk. You may feel a bit silly in your bright yellow vest but at least you will be alive!

The rain came down in buckets then, so I spent some time planning what seeds I have already for next year and what I still want to buy. Its good to plan so you can work out when you need to plant and what goes well together. This is my seed list so far:

Have:

  • Aubergine – Jan
  • Radish [Zlta] – Mar
  • Pea – Mar
  • Pumpkin – Mar
  • Brussel Sprout – Mar
  • Melon – Mar
  • Mangetout – Mar
  • Cucumber – Mar
  • Cherry Tomato – Mar
  • Courgette – Mar
  • Onion – Mar
  • Sweet Pepper – Mar
  • Sweet Peas – Mar
  • Calendula – Mar
  • Turnip – Apr
  • Sweet Corn – Apr

Seeds I want:

  • Broad Beans
  • Lollo Rosso Lettuce
  • Carrots
  • More Sweetcorn
  • Giant Pumpkins
  • More Peas
  • Parsnip
  • Onion
  • Tomatos
  • Garlic
  • More Calendula
  • More Mangetout
  • Celery
  • Broccolli
  • Cauliflower
  • Globe Artichokes
  • Runner Beans
  • Spring Cabbage
  • Leeks
  • Sunflower
  • Catnip
  • Borage
  • Fennel

The weather continues stormy outside and the wind managed to give us a small shock when it lifted a windowbox and crashed it to the ground thankfully missing the car! Memo to self, dont park car too close to the house in stormy weather! I will need to put some bricks on the bars of my greenhouse tomorrow to weigh it down more before the winter. I recently found out that soot is very good for onions and roses and our chimney needs cleaning soon, so I shall ask the chimney sweep to keep the soot for me from now for the garden.

Leave a Reply

